PDA

View Full Version : Warning: Visiting this site may harm your computer!



kitsunisan
07-03-2009, 12:25 PM
Warning: Visiting this site may harm your computer!
The website at androidcommunity.com contains elements from the site cdn1.eyewonder.com, which appears to host malware – software that can hurt your computer or otherwise operate without your consent. Just visiting a site that contains malware can infect your computer.
I've gotten this message four times this morning, anyone else?
And again as I tried to post this thread.

*susan*
07-03-2009, 12:26 PM
Interesting. Anyone else having this problem? I will look into it.

crazythunder
07-03-2009, 12:29 PM
i've never gotten spam in my private message box. i must be lucky.

mwenn1
07-03-2009, 12:33 PM
I was also getting that warning from msnbc this morning as well, weird.

kitsunisan
07-03-2009, 12:40 PM
Took me three tries to get into this thread. I'm going to run a scan on my computer, see if its a local issue, but I don't see how it could be.

crazythunder
07-03-2009, 12:41 PM
oh, you meant just visiting this site. i need more coffee lol. i haven't gotten that warning. using latest firefox or ie gives no such warning.

texas_born
07-03-2009, 12:55 PM
No warnings on my g1 :) still dont have internet at home :(

draxter
07-03-2009, 01:04 PM
No warnings here on IE8 or FF3.5

ggrant3876
07-03-2009, 01:06 PM
Couple of weeks ago I received the warning, then it finally went away. Ran my virus scanner, spybot - nothing.

notxel21
07-03-2009, 01:10 PM
Just got the warning a few minutes ago.

JohnnyLicious
07-03-2009, 01:19 PM
No warning on Safari 4

wonder whats causing this.

TheJuan
07-03-2009, 01:22 PM
No warnings on my g1 :) still dont have internet at home :(

Man are u going to love ur phone ( assuming u don't know ) time to tether!! ( use ur g1 asur new internet provider , ON UR PC ) idk if u know but there's an app for that lol

On the subject, I never received this warning, Firefox*

Jet
07-03-2009, 05:49 PM
None here, FF and IE.

kitsunisan
07-03-2009, 05:51 PM
I'd start using FF again, but I've gotten used to how fast Chrome responds.
Regardless, it may be the browser that is allowing it to happen, but there is definitely something on the site triggering it, maybe FF is just better at squashing it than Chrome. Hell, switching to FF now.

texas_born
07-03-2009, 06:29 PM
Man are u going to love ur phone ( assuming u don't know ) time to tether!! ( use ur g1 asur new internet provider , ON UR PC ) idk if u know but there's an app for that lol

On the subject, I never received this warning, Firefox*

Yezzzzzzir! Found the app last night and it worked wonderfully. Thanks though

Dixie
07-03-2009, 07:08 PM
You would have to put a gun to my head to make me leave Chrome for FF again. Hope the issue goes away, Kits

*susan*
07-03-2009, 08:12 PM
So, it sounds like the ones who are getting this error message are Chrome users then?

konzern
07-03-2009, 08:23 PM
no message here IE

on a different note lol i got rick rolled (or whatever the heck that guy is called) on another android forum because of a statement i made

rick rolled=banned

*susan*
07-03-2009, 08:37 PM
Ha, that is what you get for cheating on us!! :p

konzern
07-03-2009, 08:39 PM
i wasnt cheating on my favorite site!!!(its my homepage) i was just giving this new site a chance but the administrator insulted me for no reason so i had to say something and i guess he/she didnt like it

constellanation
07-03-2009, 09:50 PM
i'm getting it also.

http://safebrowsing.clients.google.com/safebrowsing/diagnostic?site=http://cdn1.eyewonder.com/200125/757550/1084211/wrapper.js&client=googlechrome&hl=en-US

How did this happen?
In some cases, third parties can add malicious code to legitimate sites, which would cause us to show the warning message.

that part caught my eye.
this is the diagnosis page if it helps, and yes it is chrome only.

hondamx525
07-03-2009, 10:28 PM
Howd i miss this thread? happens to me all the time.

*susan*
07-03-2009, 10:29 PM
Okay, I just installed chrome, but have not had it happen. However, I am going to forward this to Ewdi and have him look into it.

kitsunisan
07-03-2009, 10:36 PM
Careful, Susan, a couple of hours on Chrome, you'll fall in love. I do miss some of the add-ons, but the speeeeeed is incredible.

constellanation
07-03-2009, 10:40 PM
Careful, Susan, a couple of hours on Chrome, you'll fall in love. I do miss some of the add-ons, but the speeeeeed is incredible.

he is so right. i use nothing else. although if i keep getting this message and keep trying to work on that "other thing" i might have to switch to firefox. cause it is annoying.

I wonder if this and that are connected....

kizer
07-03-2009, 10:43 PM
I got a message about this site is trying to install something using Active X. I of course always ignore it and not allow it.

Jet
07-04-2009, 01:15 AM
Active X is usually for flash like a banner add? Yes ? No?

beatle7777777
07-04-2009, 01:17 AM
ive gotten this message 3 times tonight

*susan*
07-04-2009, 11:22 AM
I switched to google chrome and haven't gotten it yet when coming to this site. However, I did get the message when I went to another forum I visit often.

kitsunisan
07-04-2009, 05:03 PM
I've noticed I haven't gotten it on my desktop, only my laptop. Thing is, I use my lappy more often.

Dixie
07-04-2009, 05:05 PM
I only use Chrome and have not run into it at all when coming here, laptop or desktop, so it doesnt appear to be hitting ALL Chrome users.

PS. I'm still trying to wipe the word "lappy" out of my head.

konzern
07-04-2009, 05:22 PM
its called a lappy tappy :D

i wonder why ppl are getting this message? invest in spyware doctor :)

kitsunisan
07-04-2009, 08:19 PM
I only use Chrome and have not run into it at all when coming here, laptop or desktop, so it doesnt appear to be hitting ALL Chrome users.

PS. I'm still trying to wipe the word "lappy" out of my head.

Well, pew pew pew.

Dixie
07-04-2009, 11:49 PM
Well, pew pew pew.

Hahaha, well, HRRUMPH! :D

ggrant3876
08-26-2009, 07:13 PM
*spammiefied link removed* is offering free Blackberry Tour's for 15 days, You will be notified by email if you won or get a discount code to use at any online retailer.
Spam, spam, spam.

constellanation
08-26-2009, 08:16 PM
ironic spam would post in this thread, almost as if it was taunting us...

ggrant3876
08-26-2009, 08:56 PM
ironic spam would post in this thread, almost as if it was taunting us...
Yeah, they think they are getting smarter posting in the middle of a thread. But it was an old thread.

*susan*
08-26-2009, 09:29 PM
Smart spam scares the beejeebers out of me!

Scythe
08-26-2009, 09:33 PM
Perhaps one of the ads on the page might be spuring the message? I had an ad network at work do the same thing on our corporate site a few months back.

s.m.knipe
08-26-2009, 10:57 PM
I am on Safari 4 and whenever I have the forums up (not the Home tab), it will redirect me to some spam site and I have to click back to get back to the forums. Maybe Chrome is just blocking the redirect? It happens about a quarter of the time... I am at school on broadband so I usually leave this page and my email up during the day though , maybe that is affecting it.

chaz_uk
08-28-2009, 07:21 AM
I just got this when visiting the site on my Hero.

An ad must be linking to the live-virus-canner3(dot)com website. :(